Like a Child

So I’m listening to old Christian music I used to listen to when I was a little kid. It’s weird and I laugh at some of the old tunes I remember. My friend teased me last night for playing them, singing and jamming along. I remembered the simplicity of following the Lord back then. Doing what I was taught in Super Church (which is now called The Factory) and I was pretty cool with it. Listening to the words of DC Talk, Carman and Stryper, I was fired up about serving Christ at such a young age. I wasn’t afraid to tell the Devil to “Bite the Dust”.

Sometimes I think now days, that I would still like to be a kid. With being an adult you have to learn responsibility, ownership and your character has a chance to grow. Some times with life going on around us, it’s hard to juggle everything. I know I tend to make things more complicated than they are, I hold onto things longer than I should, and I don’t run to God like I need to and for some reason I was reminded last night of the “Oldies” in Christian music I used to listen to.

I think there is something to learn when old memories are brought up like this. I need to remember what it was like to follow Christ like a child. To learn about Him every chance I get. In Matthew 18:2-4, Jesus tells us to have childlike faith. And calling to him a child, he put him in the midst of them and said, “Truly, I say to you, unless you turn and become like children, you will never enter the kingdom of heaven. Whoever humbles himself like this child is the greatest in the kingdom of heaven. (ESV) I think it is very hard to keep that childlike faith, that childlike thinking and persistence in following God. We get worried about our house, car, bills, family members and church.

I know we go through things in life that get our focus of God, but I think if we remember to come like a child at the feet of Jesus, He will pick us up and rest us on His lap for as long as we need it.

Thanks for reading!
Christi Schuman

Here is a song that always touches my heart, enjoy!

By Christi

Leave a comment